martin win

Horn completes his return to the top.

La Baule, October 28th. 

With a beautiful victory in the World Cup of La Baule, Martin Horn has reached his destination: the top of international 3-cushion. He was absent from the circuit for a few years, but his game has not suffered. He came from behind to beat the world number one Frédéric Caudron (40-34 in 25) in the semi, then won a tense battle against Jae Ho Cho for the title: 40-39 in 23. 

The final day at La Baule had people still buzzing about that miracle match on Saturday, when Semih Sayginer produced the best 3-cushion he ever played to beat Dick Jaspers 40-25 in 6 innings. Not only was Semih’s average a new world record for World Cup matches, the two players combined scored 5.417 points per inning, making their quarterfinal the best match ever played. Sayginer, like Horn, had to come back to the pinnacle of the sport after a long absence. He has ample proof of the status he has won back: two bronze medals at world championships, a silver in the Blankenberge World Cup, and now a world record. Jaspers played 4.166 and lost, how cruel is that?

Caudron also impressed earlier, with a fluent 40 in 9 against Cenet, helped by a majestic run of 18. In spite of his semifinal defeat at the hands of Horn, he comfortably remains the world number one. Jae Ho Cho, leading the Korean charge now that Haeng Jik Kim is in a slump, did very little wrong in La Baule and his game is a joy for the eyes. He wins the silver and is now the number 6 on the ranking. Dani Sánchez has dropped out of the protected 14, and Blomdahl’s position is in danger. 

The World Cup in La Baule was the third in a trilogy, following 2016 and 2017. Joel Switala and his team can be proud of what they have accomplished. Next year, the Dutch city of Veghel will take the baton and organize the first of their World Cups. 




Final ranking: (average and high run)

1 Martin Horn 2.020-13
2 Jae Ho Cho 1.970-11
3 Frédéric Caudron 2.053-18
3 Semih Sayginer 1.921-12
5 Dick Jaspers 2.282-12
6 Minh Cam Ma 1.919-9
7 Marco Zanetti 1.864-12
8 Dani Sánchez 1.830-11
9 Jérémy Bury 2.172-11
10 Tayfun Tasdemir 2.121-9
11 Jung Han Heo 1.921-9
12 Murat Naci Coklu 1.809-11
13 Dinh Nai Ngo 1.666-15
14 Quyet Chien Tran 1.543-6
15 Dion Nelin 1.512-11
16 Birol Uymaz 1.428-11

The new world ranking:

1 Frédéric Caudron 448
2 Dick Jaspers 398
3 Semih Sayginer 276
4 Marco Zanetti 268
4 Eddy Merckx 268
6 Jae-Ho Cho 262
7 Quyet Chien Tran 254
8 Murat Naci Coklu 238
9 Haeng Jik Kim 232
10 Sameh Sidhom 224
11 Jung-Han Heo 224
12 Sung-Won Choi 216
13 Torbjörn Blomdahl 210
14 Tayfun Tasdemir 206


(c) 2020 Union Mondiale de Billard